Posted by: SisuGirl | August 26, 2007

Cant Hardly Wait

Not only the title of a movie I own but encompasses my feelings too! I cant wait for Monday evening to come and I am even holding my breath even more because the weather is supposed to get all gusty tomorrow! I know that she will make it into Juneau but wether the weather hold out for me is entirely a different matter. The good thing is that I have a lovely future SIL who lives in Juneau who is more than willing to hold onto her for me if the weather stops the flight. I have decided the name and the winner of the naming contest is…Janyne, my sister. I’m not telling her name just yet but considering that she is the only one who suggested names, she would be the clear winner 🙂 The name will be a surprise until I take and post a picture of her here in my arms…keeping my fingers crossed for a picture moment tomorrow about 5pm!!!

Knitting: I have been working on both pairs of socks, my Mums “Walk in the Garden” and my sisters surprise socks and listening to podcasts. I just finished an episode of the She-knits podcast and Sharon makes me smile all the time. She isnt for everyone because of her talk of kids but as I was a nanny for 2 years and I love and want kids of my own, I love hearing her talk about her family and the amazing bags that she makes and writes patterns for.

CONTEST!!!! I want to know about your favourite pattern(s). I know that I would knit the same K all for 2 rounds, K2 P2 for 2 rounds pattern into a pair of socks for ages and I have already for 2 pairs! I would knit another Mariah again and even though I want to rip it apart now, would tackle the PNW shawl too! Free or costly, web or hard copy, I would just like to know what you would knit over and over again. Leave me a note in the comments section and the winner, drawn at random from the number generator, will earn 2 skeins of Online sock yarn plus some little “Pelican” surprises. This will run until 9/9 – 2 weeks

Other knitting knews: My yarn is on its way from Lisa Souza and I cant wait to get started on the Rogue sweater. This will be the very first thing that I swatch and get moving on just as soon as I get the yarn. I have been waiting so patiently for it (ordered on 8/6) and I have heard that Lisa is very worth the wait!!!

There are more pics up on the flickr…the whale pics that I promised 🙂

Responses

  1. The most favoritest pattern I have done yet is
    http://cast-adrift2.blogspot.com/2006/01/yoga-socks-pattern.html

    How cool is it to make yoga socks? The COOLEST!!!

  2. My favorite patterns are Baudelaire Socks
    http://www.knitty.com/issuesummer06/PATTbaudelaire.html

    and the Summer Shawlette
    http://www.knittingdaily.com/freepatterns/shawls_stoles/Summer_Shawlette_Faroese_Islands36-1.html

    They are both surprisingly quick knits and I wear them all the time!

  3. I love the DNA cable scarf http://www.twosheep.com/helix/ – it was the perfect gift for my dad, and I’m nerdy enough myself to consider making socks with that cable.

    For socks, I really like Knitty’s Hedera (http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring06/PATThedera.html) and I’d like to remake that now that my skills have improved (they were my first lace socks).

  4. I really am not a knit things multiple times kinda person, but… I guess I really liked Pomatomus. Probably because the finished product is so lovely and looks so complicated, but it’s really really easy!

  5. I’m still quite taken with Fetching. I’ve made 2 pairs of fingerless gloves, a Fetching-ish hat and I have plans to make some Fetching mittens (although I’ve put them off for some time).

    The simple ribbing and teeny cables really appeal to me.

  6. I really like Shedir from Knitty. It’s the only thing I’ve knit more than once. It must have something to do with knitting with Calmer too!

  7. Erm… dishcloths. Specifically the traditional garter stitch bias dishcloth (I don’t remember what it’s called, but I’m sure you’ll know what I’m talking about) and the Ball Band dishcloth. They’re quick and easy and soothing to knit, and people can always use more of them.

    I’ve also made the Thuja socks from Knitty a couple of times, and I’d make them again.

  8. […] held a contest on her blog a few weeks ago, and I was the lucky winner.  My first impression upon just looking at […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

