Posted by: SisuGirl | March 14, 2007

Oh Happy Day!

I was so rudely awakened at 830 this morning by a ringing phone. I had stayed up late to finish J’s sock, talking with B and P and was SO tired. It is now noon and I would havent exchanged that phone call for a million hours of sleep. It was J! He was about 30 min out and would be docking up directly across the channel from the school and selling the first 2 sets of fish they caught. They ended up leaving the last set out there because they caught so many one the first 2 that they couldnt fit anymore on the boat! Talk about fantastic timing on those socks. I washed them in conditioner last night and they were partially dry when he called so I set the hairdryer on them 🙂 Here they are last night with the lovely toes. Toes closeThere is no way in he11 I would have ripped them back. In the future, with this yarn, I’m going to make a shorter ribbed cuff. The leg is the perfect length and if J didnt have such long feet, I would have had enough yarn!

EW Socks finished
Details: European Waffle Socks
Yarn: Euro Yarns in Nepal 63-785
Pattern: Waffle stitch of *K2 for 2 rds, K2P2 for 2 rds*, Heel flap and my standard reductions for the toe.
Needles: KP’s #1 circs (2)
I cast on 68 stitches and that was perfect fit around the ankles and up the calves. I can see how easy it will be to increase for knee socks.

Now all I need is the yarn for it 🙂 I just found Cider Moon Glacier in Juneau. Sheri just started offering it at the Loopy Ewe and there was no way I could pass up a yarn called ‘Juneau’ Part of me really wants to buy more and more and the other part of me wants to wait. But there is that huge part that wants lots and lots of pairs of knee socks.

*blush* Maybe I should make one pair to start with.


Leave a comment

Categories