Posted by: SisuGirl | March 5, 2007

All wound up

That title has many meanings, the least of which refers to the fact that I manages to ball all my yarn yesterday. I used the toiletpaper tube trick and they are perfect balls…done by hand, centre pull and not too tight at all. What a good thing too!Balls1 This one shows the colour better, kinda, which I can only discribe as a deep cherry colour. It is hard to phograph red well. I so love this yarn. Balls2 The only thing that I am NOT liking is that there are red fuzzies all over my floor and no matter how much I sweep (its a fake hardwood). I cant get them all, no matter how much I try. I stayed up until 1:30am working on the cuff of a sleeve and it is a great feeling to know that I am knitting with yarn that I dyed. Very cool.

I’m also wound about things that are going on at work. My school is a boarding school run by the state of Alaska. Which would be a good thing if I were a state employee and had some security. Unfortunatly, I’m not and I dont. I have been funded these past two years by a grant which will expire without hope of renewal. And the state is looking a bit tight with money (arnt all states like that?) and is thinking of not funding my, or my co-workers, positions. Considering we do all the programming and activities at the res. halls, you would think that that alone would give us huge value. Not so much in the eyes of the legislature. They want to give us funding for 2.5 positions instead of 4. Um, no. We are already shorthanded, like all schools that I know of, and when you consider that the kids LIVE here, thats not good. Homesickness can only be combatted with activity, personal relationships and community support. If you take away the people who provide those three things you take away the heart of the students. I give these kids so much respect for leaving their homes and moving to a strange place, without their family, at 14. I dont think that I could have done that.

Anyway, though I will continue to fight for my job here and I will encourage students to keep us on, there is no way that I cant cover my ass(ets). There are a few jobs that are opening up in Juneau at UAS and one here in Sitka at a private college that are possibilities and I am considering applying for them all. The last thing that I need is to be up the famous body of running water without means of forward propulsion. Or worse yet, without the boat.

Responses

  1. It’s beautiful! Congrats!! I don’t know if I would have had the patience to wind it all so soon after the tangling – I probably would have needed a couple days to get over it. can’t wait to see what you’re knitting with it!

  2. That red is SO pretty!


Leave a Reply

Categories

