Posted by: SisuGirl | February 6, 2007

Face for Radio

My mum always told me that I had the face for radio. She said it lovingly of course but that teasing remark instilled a love of radio. I always listen when in the car and actually prefer radio to CD’s. Now that I have an iPod I listen more to that but really, its like radio without the commercials. One day, I was sitting in a staff meeting and a fellow staffer asked me what I was doing on Tuesday morning. Since I didnt have anything planned, I said nothing and was volunteered to go on a local radio show. I was thrilled every day until last night. I got nervous and just couldnt sleep. Tossing and turning all night and I looked at the clock every 5 minutes, I swear it to you. Finally, I looked at the alarm which read 5:15, decided that I could give it up for lost and get up, stretched and the promptly fell fast alseep. Quite rudely the alarm went off at 5:30 and disrupted this restful respite and I got up and went on my way. I got to the station just after 6 and was thrilled just from the start.

Radio is anything but boring. There are so many different buttons and screens and just everything that needs to be managed. DJ’s really have to have a skill and be fluid to be any good and my DJ this morning was awesome. He made me feel at ease and laughed the entire time. I hadnt really listened to the station that much before because I am not really a rock ‘n roll kinda girl. J however IS (boy version) and listened all the time. The time flew by! I can hardly believe that I was there for 3 hours. We laughed and joked the whole time and I really had a good time. I couldnt wait to get home to hear what J thought of my radio debut.

He didnt hear me at all. He was tuned in to the right station but there was a different morning show playing the whole time! I have no idea what station he was supposed to be listening to but it obviously wasnt the one he did. He was up all morning, and from a guy who normally sleeps until 10:30 or 11, this was a real statement of love. *sigh* So I am hoping that someone heard me and will comment in the positive later on today!

Leave a Reply

Categories

