Posted by: SisuGirl | January 31, 2007

Kitchener and lifelines

I never scoff at advice but I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical about the idea of a lifeline in my knitting.  I never made a mistake that I had to rip back so far or that the pattern was so involved that I wouldnt be able to just pick up the ripped stitches.

 Yeah.  You know a lace newbie when you see the knitter frantically trying to salvage her work without a lifeline.

Luckily and than GOD, I did it.  Everything gor orientated correctly and all picked up and I knit a row just fine.  And then I put in a lifeline.  I decided that everytime I have to do row 7 again, I will put in another one, just to be careful.  In hindsight, if I had fixed the problem right away instead of saying that I could live with it, this never would have happened.  Serves me right.

I finished the first of J’s socks just in time for him to return 🙂  and in doing so revealed to me my utter lack of skill where it comes to kitchenering the toe.  I just cant do it.  I have seen and followed more tutorials that I can count.  I have read all the discriptions out there and I will be darned if I cant follow a one of them.  I know, knit, purl, purl, knit is the way that you thread the yarn onto the stitches (and I know that is a horrid way of describing the process) but no matter what I read it just doesnt come out.   I need someone to show me in person in live time and then I will be all set.  So if any of you knitters are planning a trip to Sitka, AK, I would be more than happy to show you around if you show me the d@mn technique!

Leave a Reply

Categories

